I have not watched a lot of television over the last few years but there are a handful of shows that I have really enjoyed. I am not sure what this short list says about me but these are my favorites:

1. House: I think Dr. Gregory House is one of the greatest television characters of all time. He is essentially Sherlock Holmes places in a medical mystery. He is the centerpiece of a great mix between mystery and drama.

2. Ugly Betty: I know this is a show you either love or hate. I loved it. I thought the characters were creative and it was near to see a plot line adapted from Latin culture making it to American prime-time.

3. Mad Men: This show makes the mundane day to day world of the 1950’s into a fascinating scandal. Don Draper is a mixed bag of good and evil. The violence of the corporate ladder is put on display for all to see. It makes me glad I didn’t seek a career in business.

4. The Wire: This inner city drama about the interaction between the police, the courts, and the criminals of the city of Baltimore was too close to reality. Each episode was interesting and each season shifted from one focus to another. I have not finished the series yet but I fully intend on doing so.

5. Rome: This show was a bit intense but entertaining. Anyone interested in the history of the Roman Empire would find it worth watching. On the other hand there was more skin than most people are comfortable with seeing–even in today’s entertainment world.

What shows do you enjoy?