[This post may not interest everyone as it is a bit of personal news about myself and my own journey]

My Ordination
My Ordination (Me in the middle)

 

As of today (22nd March 2011 Here in Australia) I am no longer a post-graduate student. I had been working towards my Master of Theology at Tabor Adelaide (The same seminary where I did my undergraduate studies). My recently acquired freedom is not the result of me having  completed my course of study rather I have decided that it is the wright correct thing to be doing in the wrong season of my life. I have been studying for over 7 years now and I am weary. Also, having a young family has made in next to impossible to find the time (and I’d much rather spend time with them).

After wrestling with this decision over the past 12 months or so (with many changes of mind) at 4am this morning (much to my surprise) I knew what I had to do. I was lying awake in bed when I remembered the story of David and Saul’s armour in 1 Samuel 17,

38 Then Saul dressed David in his ownq tunic. He put a coat of armor on him and a bronze helmet on his head. 39 David fastened on his sword over the tunic and tried walking around, because he was not used to them. “I cannot go in these,” he said to Saul, “because I am not used to them.” So he took them off. 40 Then he took his staff in his hand, chose five smooth stones from the stream, put them in the pouch of his shepherd’s bag and, with his sling in his hand, approached the Philistine. The New International Version (Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2011), 1 Sa 17:38–40.

I have felt this way  in ministry twice before (about different matters) and both times I knew it was time to resign or change direction. Both times I was right to do so. I beleive I am this time as well. One day I hope to return to undertake Post-Graduate studies, but not now. My primary vocational goal is not to be an academic but to be a faithful pastor. One who pays attention to God in his Word, in prayer and in the people before me. It is to these tasks I will now commit myself fully…as well getting to read whatever the heck I want to!🙂

I would like to thank four people in particular who have been a sounding board in this matter over the past  year or so: Jim West, Joel Watts and Doug Iverson as well as my supervisor and friend, Rev Dr Greg Elsdon. Thank you!