San Antonio, TX

If you read this blog frequently you know that I graduated with my Master of Theology degree from Western Seminary a couple months ago and my wife graduated from Portland State University with her Bachelor of Science degree in Child and Family Studies a few weekends ago. Now it is time for us to transition to the next phase of our lives. Since we moved to Portland, OR, we knew it was unlikely that we’d stay here long term. Miranda was raised in Texas and I was raised in California. The long rainy seasons of Oregon have been too hard and even as Portland’s “Portlandia” culture gains attention and appreciation from many, we never felt like it was home. So this September we will be moving.

Our goal has been to return to San Francisco, CA. I thought that I might be able to retain a position with Western Seminary, but there were complications that prevented this from happening. I entertained the idea of working with the seminary longer because I have enjoyed being an employee, I liked the idea of having an pay check when I moved, and I knew they would be flexible with my academic goals. Unfortunately northern California is a bit too expensive. Our hearts are in San Francisco, but our bodies cannot be. Maybe in a few more years?

Another option was a move to the suburbs of Chicago, IL. One of my professors nominated me for entry into the application process with Leadership Journal (a magazine owned by Christianity Today) for a one year, paid editorial residency internship. I was quite tempted by this offer and I interviewed all the way to the final stage of the process before withdrawing my name from consideration. I like working with words, but something didn’t seem to fit and I couldn’t put finger on it. At the end of the day I knew it wasn’t for me even though I was told a couple times that I’d be crazy to do anything but accept it.

So where are we going? My wife has family in Texas and we have the opportunity to move to San Antonio, live relatively cheap, and access a network of connections that is probably better for the both of us and that will allow both of us to move forward in our vocational ambitions. I don’t know how long we will be there, but I presume two to three years at least unless something changes.

Now let me ask if anyone has any connections in San Antonio to either a high school or college teaching position (adjunct is fine) or academic administration. I won’t limit myself to that, so if you think there is something in San Antonio that would fit me, and you have a lead, let me know. I wouldn’t mind working in a church context as well. You can either leave a comment or email me at brianleport@gmail.com. And of course, say a prayer or two for us as we transition.