Irony of ironies: my first SBL Annual Meeting presentation will be a paper titled “The Dangers of Blogging as a Student” for the Blogging and Online Publications section. I received notice of its acceptance yesterday. The title may seem contradictory coming from someone with little to no academic reputation at this point in time, yet a bit of one as a blogger. I think I am aware of the benefits and disadvantages of blogging as a student though. Originally, I had planned on proposing a paper that would discuss both sides of the coin, but I learned that others were presenting on the positives, so I chose to address the negatives.

I’m excited and grateful to the people overseeing the section who are giving me this opportunity. The Annual Meeting has become one of my favorite events each year. If you’re in Baltimore I hope to see you there!

Screen shot 2013-03-27 at 6.42.42 AM
The type of greeting I hope to see with some frequency in future years!