9780825441677For most adults it may be somewhat embarrassing to learn a new language to music. We think that it is immature, yet humans have learned alphabets, languages, and longer works to a tune for a long, long time. Mnemonic devises aren’t childish. Mnemonic devises are brilliant, helpful, and work with how our brain remembers things.

When you learned the alphabet of your first language it was likely to music. My first language is English and “A,B,C,D,E-F-G, H, I, J, K, L-M-N-O-P…” had a rhythm that made it memorable. I am thirty years old and sometimes I will hum through a song I learned over two and a half decades ago in order to remember letter order.

So why not do this when learning Koine Greek? Danny Zacharias has put together a resource with videos set to familiar musical themes in order to help students learn everything from the Greek alphabet to infinitives. It is called The Singing Grammarian and you can order it via Kregal Publications or providers such as Christian Book Distributors (CBD).

As I listened to these videos, which played through Quick Time on my computer, I found some tunes more catchy than others, but this is the thing: these paradigms are difficult to memorize. If I have to do rogue memorization I think a little music is more helpful than silence.

The product costs $18. It seems like CBD allows you to purchase individual videos as well in case you find the alphabet easy, but not liquid verbs.

Here are some screen shots:

Screen shot 2013-04-06 at 12.06.01 PM

Screen shot 2013-04-06 at 12.06.29 PM

Screen shot 2013-04-06 at 12.07.49 PM

See my review of Zacharias’ iGreek app hereI received a free copy of these videos for review from Kregal Publications.

