9781594631290_custom-cb4cb43b6689f4aec7878a3cbf3fb106f54a51dc-s6-c30
Anne Lamott, Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers

Anne Lamott, Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers (New York: Riverhead Books, 2012). (Amazon.com)

Anne Lamott is the quirky, spiritual aunt I never had but wish I did. When I read her books it is like having a relaxing conversation with a person who lives life to its fullest. When I saw that Lamott had written a book on prayer I was excited to read it. It is very short: I finished it in a day (112 pages if you read it in hardback, but the pages aren’t filled and the font isn’t small).

The title Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers tells you all you need to know about the content. For those of us who struggle to read authors who write about prayer as if it is something to learn like kung-fu or skiing this book is a relief. It is honest, simple, observant. Lamott’s prayers are prayers I find myself praying. God help me! Thanks God! Wow, God, wow!

As I said, reading Lamott is like having a conversation, so “reviewing” this book is difficult, and not something I plan on doing. It would be like giving a written account of a real encouraging meeting with a dear friend. So all I can say is this: if you are wondering about prayer, or you’re struggling to pray, and you want to read someone who isn’t going to make you feel like prayer is a hopeless, exhausting endeavor, then I recommend Lamott’s book. It will make you laugh, smile a lot, and maybe even say a few prayers in the process.

