Image 4 copy_0I’ve spent a few days researching this topic with little-to-no luck. It’s time to poll the audience:

Do any of you know about the origin of the paschal greeting, “Christos aneste”/”Alethos aneste”? Most of the Orthodox sources I have found only say things like, “It’s always been part of our tradition,” or they offer doubtful mythical origins for its liturgical use. But for the life of me, I can’t seem to find the first recorded use of it in the liturgy. It appears to be connected to Luke 24:34 (“The Lord has risen, indeed, and has appeared to Simon!”), but the word used here is ἠγέρθη, not ἀνέστη. The meaning is similar, but different enough to cause me second-guess the assumption that the paschal greeting was drawn directly from this passage, or that perhaps this passage reflects a common Easter greeting from the first century.

Any ideas? I’m stumped.

