If you didn’t see my link to Nijay Gupta’s post sharing this thought provoking lecture by Richard Hays I want to bring it you reader’s attention one more time. As many of us in the low-Church tradition are forced to ask ourselves hard questions about biblicism’s inability to produce much more than interpretive chaos there are some who are pointing back to the Rule of Faith and the Creeds of the early Church. Now, as Hays (a Methodist) will share at the beginning of this lecture, even some high-Church folk like N.T. Wright prefer the route of historicism, and while I am sympathetic to Wright and others like him, I am increasingly willing to give someone like Hays the opportunity to help me think about things from another angle. If you’re in the same boat, you may enjoy this talk:

