In recent weeks I have been reevaluating the whole concept of blogging. I think it is a marvelous idea in general. It gives everyone and anyone a voice. It has successfully democratized many subjects that once were dictated by editors and publishing companies. Overall I appreciate what blog have done, especially as it relates to biblical literature and Christian theology.

I fear that there can be some dangers to blogging that many do not recognize. In an interview with N.T. Wright he spoke about how there can be a “dehumanizing” of our communication when it becomes too reliant on the online medium (see here). In an interview with J.I. Packer (see here) he was quoted as saying this,

I’m amazed at the amount of time people spend on the internet. I’m not against technology, but all tools should be used to their best advantage. We should be spending our time on things that have staying power, instead of on the latest thought of the latest blogger—and then moving on quickly to the next blogger. That makes us more superficial, not more thoughtful. —

I realize that this is partially due to what Halden Doerge calls “cross-generational disgust” (see here). On the other hand there are some like myself that often ask ourselves, “Why do I blog again?” As of recent I am not sure why I blog. Once I thought it was to interact with people who were part of my local church community, but this changed over time. I have thought it was a way to interact with friends or make new friends. It has been this in part, but only in part. I can do this without having my own blog.

At times I thought I was contributing something to other people’s thought life, but I have begun to wonder if there are so many blogs now that it has led to clutter. I feel that I write half of my blog post for the specific purpose of just writing something, even anything. I know that blogs die when the post are not frequent, so I try to keep it frequent.

This means that there are many posts that I write that in the end may not be the best use of my time. If I am writing just to preserve a blog and I am not writing because I am really engaged in what I am saying then it is time to rethink whether or not continuing this blog is a good idea.

I say all that to say this: I think I will be calling it quits at the end of 2009 I have been considering calling it quits at the end of 2009. Let me add this though, I still like writing and I still want to have some sort of an outlet, but I think I need that to be where it does not have to be as frequent.

If you are a blogger out there and you feel like I do or you write a blog where you would like to add more contributors let me know. I am willing to contribute somewhere where I have the responsibility of writing like once a week or I am willing to merge blogs with several people to make this happen. If you are out there let me know!

UPDATE: Or if you have ideas for making this blog more efficient let me know!