Anne Rice made this announcement today on her Facebook page (HT):

First, I know what she means (and I am sympathetic) but being Christian does not equate with being anti-gay, anti-feminist, anti-artificial birth control, anti-Democrat, anti-this, or anti-that. What this tells me is that Anne Rice is not pleased with the church unless it acts, believes, and looks like her. Jesus said the world would know we are his disciples because of our love for one another, not our uniformity in all matters.

That brings me to my second point: there is no following Christ without being part of the church. That is like speaking of being born absent being part of the human race. I am sure she feels “different” (she is not alone) than other Christians but following Jesus is (a) never an individualistic endeavor and (2) never to be done only with people who are like minded in all areas of politics, sociology, economics, ecology, or any other sub -ology and -ism.

While I am sure (as the comments totals shows) that there are many people applauding Rice today I am not one of them. What all these people forget to recognize is that your Christianity is not necessarily the right Christianity. Contrary to belief you are just as messed up and mistaken as the rest of us. We remain faithful to the church because we recognize we all are flawed. If you don’t see that I am not sure how you can boast of following Christ.