One thing I have learned in the years since I departed from Pentecostalism is that my hermeneutical paradigm remains far more Pentecostal than evangelical.

Peter’s vision in Joppa: When hermeneutics submit to the Holy Spirit.

Seven years ago I disassociated with the Pentecostalism that introduced me to Christianity. It was the right decision, not because it was Pentecostalism, but because the sect of which I was part taught and defended particularities that I denied. I have ventured into the world of evangelicalism going to an evangelical seminary, reading evangelical scholarship, worshiping with evangelical communities, and while I have not regretted my decision to enter this strange new world I have been painfully aware of my status as the “odd man out.” I am aware that not all evangelical communities are the same, so I don’t mean to insinuate that all evangelicals make me feel like a traveler in a foreign land. This is just how things unfolded and while I met a person here and there to whom I could relate my overall experience has been someone isolating.

I remember one day sitting in a class where we were discussing the roles of women in the church. The professor had displayed the spectrum of positions on a chalk board. There were about thirty students present and one egalitarian: me.

I have talked with evangelicals who affirm the gifts of the Spirit in principle, but when I mention things like being healed of asthma as a child or speaking in tongues in my teens I receive blank stares. I know Francis Chan wrote a book called Forgotten God, but evangelicals remain skeptical of the Holy Spirit. I understand their precautions. I have seen the abuses. While I am charismatic on one end I am a skeptical modern on the other at the same time.

When evangelicals talk about Scripture I am conflicted. As I said, I am a modern and so are most evangelicals, even as they decry modernity (and post-modernity). I enjoy the historical-critical hermeneutical paradigm because my mind is inquisitive regarding historical matters. I know many evangelicals dismiss this approach to the text preferring the so-called “historical-grammatical” approach. But the “high view” claimed by evangelicals looks quite different from the “high view” of the apostolic church. The text is wooden. It doesn’t have life and it cannot adapt. God spoke (past tense) and that is affirmed, but that God speaks (present tense) seems scary.

Again, I understand the concern: evangelicals fear the Benny Hinn and Kenneth Copeland types.

But the very text that evangelicals want to defend directs us to be people who pray and listen for the guidance of the Holy Spirit. The text that we defend against the dangers of the Spirit is the text that tells us to take a risk in listening to the Spirit. Sure, you will invite a Simon Magnus into your midst on occasion, but should you silence a gifted deacon like Philip as a safeguard? Yes, there will be people like the sons of Sceva who try to do works in the name of a Jesus they’ve never known, but should you silence Philip’s prophetess daughters?

Tomorrow I want to talk a bit about Acts 10, but let me allude to it today as well as an article by the General Superintendent of the Assemblies of God, George O. Wood. In Acts 10 Peter has a vision where he sees a sheet full of non-kosher foods presented to him. The voice tells him to eat. He refuses because it is against the Law of Moses. The voice replies, “What God has cleansed, no longer consider unholy (v. 15).” Peter did not have an exegetical argument when he went to Cornelius’ house to preach the Gospel to Gentiles who had not obeyed the Law’s command of circumcision. Peter had the Holy Spirit’s voice.

It was this experience that empowered Peter to preach the Gospel to Gentiles without mention of the Law. When Peter saw the Spirit baptize the Gentiles he knew that his exegetical argument had been trumped. His fellow Jews in Jerusalem had questions and he did not have immediate exegetical answers, but he was being obedient to God.

I know what my evangelical friends are thinking: “Well, how do we safeguard against abuses, or false doctrines, or this, or that?” Good question and I don’t think there is a pat answer. But I am quite sure that the answer has nothing to do with the lyrics of the song “Hold the Fort” by W.T. Sherman. Our hermeneutic must be done in community, but it cannot ignore the contribution of experience and the voice of the Spirit to our horizon and we interact with the horizon of the text. Peter could have been an orthodox exegete while being completely disobedience to the voice of the Spirit!

In the aforementioned article by George O. Wood (which I recommend reading in its entirety) titled “Exploring Why We Think The Way We Do About Women in Ministry” he writes this important paragraph:

As Pentecostals, we intuitively approach the biblical text in a manner different from most of our evangelical brothers and yes, sisters. We factor in the element of experience as a lens through which we look at Scripture. We are criticized for that. But our evangelical compatriots essentially do the same thing, except they interpret the text from their nonexperience, which is an experience of sorts.

As a former Pentecostal in the world of evangelicals I read this as say to myself, “Apparently I read Scripture like a Pentecostal.” I have retained a Pentecostal hermeneutic where the work of the Spirit factors into how I read Scripture–or maybe the difference is that I openly admit it. When fellow evangelicals deny roles to women in the church and they don’t understand why I shrug at their arguments it has a lot to do with the reality that they have not seen women function in these roles and I have seen it. I had an associate pastor who was a woman when I was in San Francisco and she was amazing. I have talked to those engaged in foreign missions who have faced great challenges and they have seen the Spirit use women to evangelize, preach, and teach. So while the culture and the churches that some of my evangelical friends look a lot like Paul’s prohibition of women I have seen women who are like Junia the Apostle or Priscilla the teacher. As Gordon D. Fee said in an interview not too long ago (see “Effortless Egalitarianism: An Interview with Gordon Fee”): “This is a non-issue for me, because I was born and raised in a tradition where God obviously gifted people who were male and female.” At the end of the day we bring experience to the text, but we have different experiences.

Sometimes I don’t have the energy to debate with evangelicals over matters where I don’t think I can change their mind through exegesis alone.  That said, I can’t have my mind changed on some matters either. When you’ve seen someone pray for you for healing and you’ve been healed it is hard to deny that work of God. When you’ve seen a woman preach the Gospel empowered by the Spirit it is hard to deny the work of God. We may want to pretend like experience is a bad word, but if we are honest it is a intrinsic part of our hermeneutical methodology. On this topic I am a Pentecostal through and through.