Regular readers of this blog will no doubt be aware that a number of us here are big fans of Eugene Peterson. In a few weeks his memoirs will be released. I can’t put my finger on exactly what it is about Peterson that I admire (maybe there is too much) except to say he encourages pastors to be pastors. Nothing more, nothing less. I will forever be grateful for his witness. His life has been, in my opinion, the epitome of what faithful pastoral ministry should be. Spiritual. Biblical. Stable.

In light of the release of Peterson’s memoirs we here at Near Emmaus would like to give away a copy to someone and we are asking you  (bloggers and non-bloggers) to tell us in 200 words or less (in the comments or via a post) about a pastor who has had a postive influence on your life. You will need to tell us:

  1. What it is you appreciate about them?
  2. What makes them a good minister?
  3. Anything else you can think of!
  4. If you blog – please post a link about the giveaway.

Now although people are free to speak about whomever they wish we would prefer to hear about lesser known, everyday, pastors. It is understandable that some might argue a Piper, Peterson or Stott is ‘their’ pastor but we want to hear about the many lesser known shepherds who care for flocks week in and week out with little notoriety.

On behalf of the team here at Near Emmaus we look forward to reading people’s responses!

[UPDATED: When I posted this I forgot to mention that all entries have to be in by the 14th February. Also, if you don’t have a blog but would like to enter feel free to email me at mrkstevens at gmail dot com and I can post it for you!]