Last night I attended a seminar and book release of Dr. Fred Sanders latest book “The Deep Things of God“.  The only other book I had read from Sanders was the one he co-edited with Klaus Issler “Jesus in Trinitarian Perspective” which is really good.  I was also able to have him sign and dedicate a book to the Near Emmaus readers, and he did mention that he was familiar with our blog so that was very cool.  Overall the seminar was great with an amazing turn out, I estimated about 130-150 people who attended last night.  I wish I had known they were going to have a Q&A session with the panel, I would have prepared better and solicited some questions from our readers, my apologies.

A few things I didn’t know about Sanders.  First off he is really young (top left), the guy looks like he is my age.  If Theopedia is correct he was born in 1968, which makes him two years younger than me.  When you are my age and you have Ph.D you are young.  When you are my age and you are trying to finish your B.Th you are old, it’s all a matter of perspective 😉

Second thing I learned about Sanders is that he grew up in a Pentecostal church, Foursquare to be exact.  This is always great news for me as I also grew up Pentecostal and I’m always glad to see those with similar backgrounds engaged in theological matters, and especially at the academic level.

Finally, the guy is really funny.  He has a great sense of humor, like this funny line he said last night “The Trinity: try to understand it and you’ll lose your mind; try to deny it and you’ll lose your soul” everyone was laughing.  He also writes a theological comic book, which makes sense considering how funny he was.

He loves to blog so stop by and check out his blog, and don’t forget to participate in our book give away of “The Deep Things Of God”